Now I noticed that this question has been slightly answered before but for absolute clarity, I need to know.

I came across these titles.

  • Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!
  • Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Lite
  • Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren
  • Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren Lite
  • Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren Specials
  • Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren: The Rikka Wars
  • Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! The Movie Lite

Now because of my lack of knowledge as far as OVAs, ONAs, base series, and movies go in the anime genre exactly what is the chronological order of this list? And is it missing any titles from this series?

Oh, and I just finished the first season and if anything I know that I am supposed to watch the first lite series next right? Then the movie? (Ren specials and Rikka Wars, what order are these in?)


First, watch Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! - this is the first TV season. Either at the same time or immediately afterwards, watch Lite - these are a bunch of short comedic sketches that occur at roughly the same time chronologically, but don't have any impact on the plot.

After you've watched the first season, watch the episode-length OVA that goes with it (not on your list; you'll probably find it titled "Kirameki no Slapstick Noel"). Not plot-critical, but fun.

It also makes sense to watch the Depth of Field shorts for the first season (not on your list) sometime after watching the first season; these are fun but completely plot-irrelevant.

Then, you may or may not want to watch The Movie (not on your list) - aside from a couple isolated scenes, it's mostly a recap of the first season. The added scenes are pretty fun, though, so you might like to just skim those. Whether or not you watch the movie, watch The Movie Lite, which is another short comedic sketch.

This is the point at which you start watching the second TV season, Ren. During or after watching Ren, watch Ren Lite and Ren Specials (in whichever order), both of which are non-plot-critical and not directly related to one another.

Finally, watch Ren: The Rikka Wars, which is an episode-length OVA, like its first season counterpart.

  • Is there anywhere to legally watch the Depth of Field shorts in English? I have the US DVD release for Series I and they don't seem to be on there, though the Lite sketches are included.
    – Torisuda
    Aug 28 '15 at 19:31
  • @Torisuda Beats me. The Japanese Blu-ray has them (without English subtitles, of course), but if Sentai decided not to put it on their release, I guess you're SOL.
    – senshin
    Aug 28 '15 at 20:28
  • Since this answer was posted, the series has grown another movie, Take on me. It looks to be a sequel to Ren and its OVA. Feb 2 '20 at 14:47

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.