In the Kara no Kyoukai, each movie is referred to as a Chapter so I've been wondering if they all comes from a single book or separate books and when they say Chapter they are referring to the movie collection (like how some anime series use Chapter # instead of Episode #)


From the Type-Moon Wiki the chapters of the light novel are:

  • Chapter 1 – Overlooking the Scenery (俯瞰風景, Fukan Fuukei) Thanatos
  • Chapter 2 – Murder Speculation (Part 1) (殺人考察(前), Satsujin Kousatsu (Zen)) …and nothing heart.
  • Chapter 3 – Remaining Sense of Pain (痛覚残留, Tsuukaku Zanryuu) ever cry, never life.
  • Chapter 4 – The Hollow Shrine (伽藍の洞, Garan no Dou) garan-no-dou.
  • Intermission - Kirie/Fujino (境界式, Kyoukai Shiki)
  • Chapter 5 – Paradox Spiral (矛盾螺旋, Mujun Rasen) Paradox Paradigm.
  • Chapter 6 – Oblivion Recorder (忘却録音, Boukyaku Rokuon) Fairy Tale.
  • Intermission - Lio (境界式, Kyoukai Shiki)
  • Chapter 7 – Murder Speculation (Part 2) (殺人考察(後), Satsujin Kousatsu (Go)) …not nothing heart.
  • Boundary of Emptiness (空の境界, Kara no Kyoukai)
  • Future Gospel (未来福音, Mirai Fukuin) recalled out summer
  • Final Record (終末録音, Shuumatsu Rokuon) the Garden of Oblivion

And the animated films:

  • 2007-12-01 (Japan, Part 1 - Fukan Fuukei) (same as Chapter 1 of novel)
  • 2007-12-29 (Japan, Part 2 - Satsujin Kousatsu) (same as Chapter 2 of novel)
  • 2008-01-26 (Japan, Part 3 - Tsuukaku Zanryuu) (same as Chapter 3 of novel)
  • 2008-05-24 (Japan, Part 4 - Garan no Dou) (same as Chapter 4 of novel)
  • 2008-08-16 (Japan, Part 5 - Mujun Rasen) (same as Chapter 5 of novel)
  • 2008-12-20 (Japan, Part 6 - Boukyaku Rokuon) (same as Chapter 6 of novel)
  • 2009-08-08 (Japan, Part 7 - Satsujin Kousatsu [conclusion]) (same as Chapter 7 of novel)

So the movies' chapters refer to the same chapters from the light novel.

  • So the chapters all come from the same book?
    – Memor-X
    Oct 4 '13 at 0:17
  • 1
    @Memor-X by "book" you mean a single printed release or light novel series (which is just called "Kara no Kyokai")? Because the 7 chapters span 3 volumes, but are all part of the same series.
    – Jon Lin
    Oct 4 '13 at 0:20
  • i though it was either a series of light novels or a single light novel, didn't know it was both so i'm probably referring to whichever the anime was sourced from, if there is even a difference between the light novels and the single printed release
    – Memor-X
    Oct 4 '13 at 1:03
  • 2
    @Memor-X The series was released as 3 volumes, I think the first covered chapters 1-3, then 4-5, then 6-7. I don't think the individual chapters were released individually, but I could easily be wrong.
    – Jon Lin
    Oct 4 '13 at 1:12
  • 1
    The first 5 chapters were actually published on Nasu's proto-blog (whatever you called those back in 1998) prior to receiving a print run (as 2 novels, not 3, I believe split up as 1-5 and then 6-7) in I think 2001. Mirai Fukuin is also based on a sequel novel (also titled "Mirai Fukuin" and released in 2008, seven years after the first two).
    – senshin
    Oct 4 '13 at 11:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.