We all know that the following people are capable of entering Sage Mode:

  • Naruto
  • Jiraiya
  • Orochimaru (learnt but couldn't use because of his body, or rather his vessels)
  • Kabuto
  • Hashirama

Naruto and Jiraiya learnt it from the Toads (at Mount Myōboku), hence they go into the Toad-style Sage Mode. Orochimaru and Kabuto learnt it from the Snakes (at Ryūchi Cave), hence they go into the Snake-style Sage Mode. But what type of Sage Mode does Hashirama enter? I read a lot about the Sage Mode and Senjutsu, but couldn't find any info about Hashirama's Sage Mode.

  • 1
    While reading the wiki, "The method of learning the other styles of Sage Mode are unknown, as the only one shown was the toad's style.".
    – Mark
    Nov 7, 2013 at 7:39
  • Chances are it is related to his summon
    – krikara
    Nov 7, 2013 at 7:46
  • 2
    The good news is that with Obito now being either defeated or "won over" by Naruto's speech, Hashirama v/s Madara is likely to come up pretty soon, and there is a very good chance his sage mode would be explained at the time.
    – Masked Man
    Nov 7, 2013 at 8:04
  • 4
    Yeah, you might have to wait for the answer, but you certainly don't need to wait for an upvote. :) What's wrong with the site these days? Why are people so reluctant to vote? :(
    – Masked Man
    Nov 7, 2013 at 8:20
  • 3
    Pure speculation here: I believe it is the snail type sage mode (which wasn't revealed, but is highly likely to exist), since the family connection to Tsunade, who uses snails (or rather, snail). Again, pure speculation. Nov 7, 2013 at 13:04

3 Answers 3


Before I deliver my answer, we must ask ourselves what Sage Mode is.

What is Sage Mode?

From Sage Mode article:

Sage Mode is the empowered state humans enter when they learn to draw natural energy inside them and blending it with their chakra. By doing so, the human creates new senjutsu chakra that allows them to enter Sage Mode.

The next question is: Where do shinobi learn it from?

Thus far, Sage Mode has been shown to be taught in two places: at Mount Myōboku by the toads, and Ryūchi Cave by the snakes.

The articles clearly states that Sage Mode is achieved when the user learns to draw natural energy and mixes it with their chakra, and Mount Myoboku and Ryuchi Cave are two known places where they can learn to do so.

Now, the requirements for learning Sage Mode:

According to Fukasaku, only those who already possess "extreme chakra levels" can utilise natural energy to invoke senjutsu.

Hashirama Senju's Sage Mode

Let us move onto Hashirama Senju.

Because of his large chakra reserves, Hashirama is able to use senjutsu by entering Sage Mode, a feat he could perform instantaneously; it is not known where he learned it.

If we look at his abilities section:

He is similarly knowledgeable of skills he has no training in, being able to recognize the Samsara of Heavenly Life Technique.

Taking into consideration the aforementioned details, in conclusion, it is possible that Hashirama learned Sage Mode by himself. Since it is self-taught, it is not animal-influenced. Hence it would be something-like a "Normal-Without-Animal-Influence-Sage-Mode".

What led me to this conclusion?

Learning Sage Mode at Mount Myōboku or Ryūchi Cave grants the user with a toad and snake-influenced Sage Mode respectively,

That is the explanation for the toad/snake techniques used by Jiraiya/Naruto and Orochimaru/Kabuto.

However, Hashirama's Sage Mode hasn't shown what animal-influence it possesses so far. Therefore, he couldn't have learned his Sage Mode from Mount Myōboku or Ryūchi Cave.

His Sage Mode strengthens his Wood-Release techniques and his overall performance drastically.

From Naruto manga, Chapter 657, Page 08:


Madara-sama's line: "Only this much power... This will be easy to handle.", shows that an experienced and powerful shinobi can use Senjutsu within mere moments.

Wrapping up

Since there is no official details about what Sage Mode Hashirama uses, my conclusion is classified as a possibility.

Another possible conclusion is detailed in this answer: Is there a slug based Sage Mode?


I Think Hashirama enters into "Bull Sage Mode", as the Bull Sage was one of the original 5 Sages which were

  1. The Eagle-Owl Sage,
  2. The Scorpion Sage,
  3. The Bull Sage,
  4. The Salamander Sage
  5. The Toad Sage

And it happens the Bull Sage specialises at Wood release which was Hashirama's specialty

  • 3
    Interesting! Where did you get this information from? Can you provide a cite link? Mar 12, 2014 at 19:52
  • this is invalid as kabuto and orochimaru has dragon/snake sage power.
    – Sp0T
    Mar 13, 2014 at 6:02
  • Don't forget the slug powers
    – Dimitri mx
    Mar 13, 2014 at 7:06
  • 1
    This is fan fiction: narutofanon.wikia.com/wiki/…
    – Daz C
    Apr 25, 2014 at 6:49

Hashirama Senju has the Forest Sage Mode. It says in the wikia, that his Sage Mode is a special type that only he can use. Thats fitting since he would need the Forest Style to increase the effect of his Wood Style.

  • ever heard about shikkotsu woods it is the place where hashirama learnt his wood style.
    – user2916
    Dec 9, 2013 at 18:17
  • more then forest i think it is Wood type as he is the only person to know wood release technique and in his sage form he makes the wood seal as explained by yamato.
    – Sp0T
    Mar 11, 2014 at 10:58

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .