In Rurouni Kenshin: Meiji Kenkaku Romantan episode 5, they mention people fought to end the 4 social classes that existed in Japan, so all people would be equal. This is apparently a re-make of the 90's series; also there was a manga, OVAs, an animated movie, live action movies, etc. so I suppose anywhere it was mentioned. Also this might be what historically happened in Japan or not, since certain ideas are historically accurate, and others aren't or are loosely based. I suppose 2 of the social classes were farmer and samurai, but not sure which would be the others.

Which were the 4 social classes mentioned in Rurouni Kenshin Meiji Kenkaku Romantan episode 5?

1 Answer 1


The four classes in feudal Japan were:

  1. samurai
  2. farmers
  3. artisans
  4. merchants

These were legal classifications; the emperor and his court were above them, and the burakumin, including professions such as actor or butcher, were below it.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .