Black Butler ("Kuroshitsuji") is a manga series by Yana Toboso about the twelve-year-old Earl of Phantomhive and his demon butler Sebastian Michaelis. It has several adaptations in anime and other media.

Black Butler manga vol.1 cover

Black Butler (黒執事; Japanese title: Kuroshitsuji) is an ongoing manga series and completed anime by Yana Toboso. It's about Ciel Phantomhive, who is a twelve-year-old earl, and his demon butler Sebastian Michaelis.

The Black Butler franchise includes:

  • An ongoing manga series started in 2006 that is published in Monthly GFantasy
  • An anime series that ran from 2008 to 2011 containing 36 episodes
  • 7 OVAs that aired in 2010 and 2011
  • A musical adaptation that ran in Sunshine Theater from May 28 to June 7, 2008
  • A video game
  • A number of book
  • A live-action film to be released in 2014